• WWW
    This Site

« Hospitals greet success with preventing bloodstream infections-- by Robin Walters, R.N., B.S.N. | Main | CEO of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center alerts all staff to wrong-site surgery »

Joint Commission releases its 2009 National Patient Safety Goals

The Joint Commission has released its 2009 National Patient Safety Goals for each of its accreditation programs.  The Goals are meant to help health care organizations use proven approaches to reducing ongoing failures in patient safety.  Separate, but overlapping goals have been issued for nine different health care settings:  ambulatory care, behavioral health care, critical access hospitals; disease-specific care; home care; hospitals; laboratories; long-term care; and, office-based surgery. 

New in 2009 are there hospital requirements for preventing lethal health care-associated infections from multiple drug-resistant organisms (MDROs), central line-associated bloodstream infections and surgical site infections.  These build on prior Goals in an effort to combat the increasing rate at which patients today are acquiring preventable infections in hospitals.  The new requirements for central line-associated bloodstream infections also apply to ambulatory care and office-based surgery, home care and long-term care.  Prevention of surgical site infections will be a new requirement for ambulatory care facilities and office-based surgery practices.  Health care organizations have a one-year phase-in period that includes defined milestones, with full implementation expected by January 1, 2010.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Joint Commission releases its 2009 National Patient Safety Goals :


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this weblog until the author has approved them.

If you have a TypeKey or TypePad account, please Sign In.

Subscribe to RSS Feed

  • Subscribe in a reader or via email:

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner